Leadership Lafayette class of 2016 named

Published 12:00 pm Friday, January 15, 2016

Emerging community leaders of Oxford and Lafayette County are set to complete the 2016 class of Leadership Lafayette. 

Put together annually by the Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce, the nine-month program is full of training sessions and activities for professionals to build their leadership skills and learn more about the community.

In addition to the sessions, everyone will participate in a community-based project.

Email newsletter signup

Among the participants this year is the Oxford EAGLE’s advertising director, Nikki Paine.

“As the hometown paper of the L-O-U community, I have always felt that it is important for our employees to take an active role in our community,” said EAGLE Publisher Tim Phillips. “I’m proud of the diversity of the clubs and organizations that our employees have decided to make a part of their life. Advertising Director Nikki Paine will do a tremendous job with Leadership Lafayette and will learn a great deal in what it takes to make a great community that we live in prosper. While in Leadership Lafayette, she will learn to work as a team on a worthwhile project that will enhance our community.”

The group will start activities this month and take on four community projects that answer a need in the city and county.

“We are thrilled to have such a stellar group of professionals in this year’s class,” said Pam Swain, senior vice president of the chamber. “It was extremely competitive to get into the program this year and those who are in the class of 2016 should be proud of their accomplishments so far for standing out among their peers.

“The program will teach them to be a better leader in their professional careers, but will also teach them more about the community as a whole and how they can make a difference in the community in which they live. We can’t wait to see what’s ahead for this class.”

Class members

Class members include Cade Clanton with Hayden Fiduciary Management Firm, Reggie Clayton with Titanium Services, LLC, Lisa Coleman with the Salvation Army, Seth Gaines with the city of Oxford’s park commission, Allison Garner with FNC, Chris Glaze with KNS Medical, Mike Gooch and Emery Newsom with Baptist Memorial Hospital-North Mississippi, Amy Goodin with the Boys & Girls Club of North Mississippi, Alison Green with the Oxford School District, Amy Hartley with BancorpSouth Mortgage, Campbell Helveston with FNB Oxford Bank, Caitlin Hopper with Yoknapatawpha Arts Council, Laura Martin with McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement, Jason McCormick and Deetra Wiley with the University of Mississippi, Hardie Meeks with the Oxford Police Department, Andy Miller with Trustmark National Bank, Rebecca Phillips with the University Museum, Meredith Pittman with The Second Line, Cassidy Shoemake with TeleSouth Communications, Nathan Smith with Regions Bank, Lee Ann Stubbs with Visit Oxford, Cory Swain with Dex Media, Ward Toler with CSpire, Corey Ussery with Lee Family Dental and Nikki Paine with the Oxford EAGLE.