Mississippi votes Trump

Published 10:26 am Wednesday, November 9, 2016

JACKSON — Mississippi has given its six electoral votes to Republican Donald Trump and re-elected all four of its U.S. House members.

State Supreme Court Justice Jim Kitchens has won a second term, fending off a challenge from Court of Appeals Judge Kenny Griffis. Although Mississippi judicial races are nonpartisan, Democrats supported Kitchens and Republicans supported Griffis.

Jackson attorney Latrice Westbrooks has unseated Judge Ceola James from the state Court of Appeals.

Email newsletter signup


Republican Donald Trump campaigned in Mississippi three times, while Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton focused her efforts in other states. Republican Gov. Phil Bryant raised money and campaigned for Trump.

Republicans have won Mississippi in every presidential race since 1980.


All four of Mississippi’s congressmen won two-year terms after raising more cash than their challengers in what were generally low-intensity campaigns.

In the northern 1st District, Republican Rep. Trent Kelly of Saltillo defeated Democrat Jacob Owens of Oxford, the Reform Party’s Cathy Toole of Biloxi and Libertarian Chase Wilson of Olive Branch. Kelly was first elected in mid-2015.

Democratic Rep. Bennie Thompson of Bolton won re-election in the 2nd District. He’s held the seat since 1993.

In the central 3rd District, Republican Rep. Gregg Harper of Pearl was re-elected and has held that seat since 2008.

Republican Rep. Steven Palazzo of Biloxi won re-election in the 4th District, a seat he has held since 2010.

Mississippi did not have a U.S. Senate race this year.


Four seats for the 10-member Mississippi Court of Appeals were on the ballot. Winners receive eight-year terms.

In two of the races, incumbents were unopposed: Judge Jim Greenlee of Oxford in the northern 1st District and Judge David Ishee of Gulfport in the southern 5th District.

In the Delta-to-Jackson 2nd District, Latrice Westbrooks of Jackson unseated Judge Ceola James of Vicksburg.

In the central 3rd District, the race was too close to call early Wednesday. Jack Wilson of Madison led challengers Ed Hannan of Madison and Dow Yoder of Ridgeland, but it was not clear whether Wilson would avoid a runoff.