Ole Miss’ C.J. Moore recipient of Chucky Mullins Courage Award

Published 10:08 am Saturday, April 7, 2018

C.J. Moore is the recipient of one of Ole Miss football’s most prestigious honors.

Moore was named the Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner Saturday morning in advance of the Grove Bowl. The award, which annually goes to a defensive upperclassman, is in its 29th year in memory of Mullins, the former Ole Miss safety who died from complications from the infamous hit he put on Vanderbilt’s Brad Gaines on Oct. 28, 1989 that left him paralyzed.

Moore will wear Mullins’ No. 38 jersey next season.

Email newsletter signup

A senior defensive back, Moore has played in 37 games in his career, drawing six starts (five at safety, one at cornerback) last season. He finished with a career-high 51 tackles while leading the Rebels with three interceptions. It was his first season back after a torn pectoral muscle caused him to miss the 2016 campaign.

Other Chucky Mullins award winners include Patrick Willis, Jamarca Sanford, Marcus Tillman, Kentrell Lockett, Mike Hilton, John Youngblood and Marquis Haynes. Former linebacker Deterrian Shackelford is the awards’s only two-time winner.