Ole Miss Men’s Cross Country stacking SEC awards

Following a historic season for Ole Miss cross country, two major awards are heading to Oxford. Announced earlier today, head coach Ryan Vanhoy has been named SEC Men’s Coach of the Year and Cade Bethmann has been named SEC Men’s Freshman of the Year.

This past Friday, Ole Miss won the SEC Men’s Cross Country Championship for the first time in program history, edging out Arkansas by a score of 36 to 44. Despite having never previously won, Ole Miss has been on the verge twice of late: they placed second to Arkansas in both 2014 and 2016.

The Rebel victory marked the first time since 1990 that any school other than Arkansas or Alabama won the SEC men’s title.

In wake of the victory, awards are piling on for the team. Not only did Vanhoy and Bethmann bring home coach and freshman of the year honors, five of the men earned First or Second-Team All-SEC honors.

At the SEC Championships in Auburn, all five Rebel scorers finished in the top 11, led by sophomore Waleed Suliman’s 4th place finish (22:59.4). Bethmann finished sixth with a personal best 23:03.6.

On the women’s side, Clio Ozanne-Jaques was named to the All-SEC Second Team and Lisa Vogelgesang was named SEC All-Freshman. They finished third at the SEC championships, their third straight top-three finish.

Next on the slate for the Rebels the NCAA South Regional at Florida State, scheduled for Friday morning at 7:30 Central time.


Ole Miss SEC Postseason Awards

SEC Men’s Coach of the Year:
Ryan Vanhoy

SEC Men’s Freshman of the Year:
Cade Bethmann

Men’s First-Team All-SEC:
Waleed Suliman
Cade Bethmann
Mario Garcia Romo

Men’s Second-Team All-SEC:
Farah Abdulkarim
Mark Robertson

Men’s SEC All-Freshman:
Cade Bethmann
Mario Garcia Romo

Women’s Second-Team All-SEC:
Clio Ozanne-Jaques

Women’s SEC All-Freshman:
Lisa Vogelgesang