McGregor to serve as president of LCSD board

Published 12:00 pm Wednesday, December 9, 2015

The Lafayette County School District appointed new executive members for the 2016 calendar year.

Current School Board Secretary Bill McGregor was appointed as the new president of the LCSD board for the first time since he has been elected. He will begin serving Jan. 1.

McGregor said this year was his first time to ever serve on a school board and he is looking forward to serving his second year as its president. He will replace current president Ken Hewlett and will take over his duties at the first board meeting.

Email newsletter signup

School board members are elected for six-year terms and the board rotates executive positions annually. The position McGregor was elected to set him to be president on his first year, but he instead opted to serve as secretary.

“I am excited,” School Board Superintendent Adam Pugh said of the rotation in leadership. “This is a great school board to work with,” he said.

Board member Bob Colston will serve as secretary in 2016.

Along with Hewlett, members Johnny Parker and Judith Thompson will serve as regular board members.

“They’re just a great bunch of people to work with and to work for,” Pugh said.