Local students receive highest award at UM

Published 6:00 am Sunday, May 8, 2016

Four Lafayette County students are among 76 University of Mississippi students to receive a 2016 Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal, the university’s highest academic award.

The students were recognized April 7 during the 73rd annual Honors Day Convocation at the Ford Center for the Performing Arts.

Roya Ally Gordji is a senior general engineering who plans to attend the University of Mississippi School of Medicine this fall. She is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society and the Tau Beta Pi Engineering honor society. She is a recipient of the School of Engineering Outstanding Senior Leadership Award. She is the daughter of Sam and Leili Gordji of Oxford.

Email newsletter signup

David Earl Rozier is a junior chemical engineering major who plans to pursue a career in industry upon graduation. He is a member of the Sigma Nu Fraternity, the Phi Kappa Phi, Tau Beta Pi, and the Order of the Omega. He is the son of Dave and Jackie Rozier of Oxford.

John Yi is a senior biology major who plans to study toward a medical degree at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in the fall. He is a member of the Chi Psi fraternity, the McCurdy Lab Group, the Honors College Senate, and the American Medical Student Association. He is the son of Gene and Kim Yi of South Korea

Yujing Zhang is a junior pharmaceutical sciences major who plans to continue her studies toward earning the doc- tor of pharmacy degree from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy. She is a member of the Early Entry Pharmacy program, a member of the Columns Society, the Honors Senate, and a member of the Phi Kappa Phi honors society. She is the daughter of Scott and Jinping Stevens of Oxford.

Dr. William A. Taylor of Booneville established at the Taylor Medals UM in 1904 in memory of his son, an honored 1871 alumnus of the university. The award recognizes no more than 1 percent of the student body each year at the university.