Ole Miss committee formed to put historic sites in context

Published 12:00 pm Friday, July 29, 2016

In an effort to contextualize historic campus sites and buildings, University of Mississippi chancellor Jeffrey S. Vitter announced Thursday the creation of the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on History and Contextualization.

Vitter made the announcement in a campus-wide letter to students, faculty and alumni.

The committee was formed in response to recent events concerning Confederate symbols on campus, such as the Confederate statue and the removal of the Mississippi state flag, which includes the Confederate battle flag emblem.

Email newsletter signup

According to Vitter, “The CACHC will have a two-part charge: The initial goal will be to recommend which Oxford campus sites should be contextualized, so as to explain the environment in which they were created or named. The committee will then be charged with designing content and format to contextualize the designated sites.”

Dr. Donald R. Cole, Ph.D. and Rose Jackson Flenorl will co-chair the 14-member committee that also includes Don Barrett, Jeffrey T. Jackson, Shawnboda D.  Mead, Andrew P. Mullins, John R. Neff, Austin Powell, Charles K. Ross, David G. Sansing, Jennifer A. Stollman, Anne S. Twitty, Jay Watson and Jacqueline A. Vinson.

“The committee will work during the upcoming academic year and employ a variety of methods to ensure transparency and broad community input,” wrote Vitter. “I encourage you to visit the CACHC website on a regular basis for updates and opportunities for input. You can also contact us at context@OleMiss.edu.”

The first meeting of the committee will be on Tuesday, Aug. 16 at 1:30 p.m. in Room 200 of the Lyceum.

Vitter concluded his letter by commending the committee members for their “willingness to serve on the CACHC and for their commitment to a respectful process informed by expertise and guided by the UM Creed. The committee will play an invaluable role in moving our great flagship university ever forward and ensuring that we are a welcoming place for all.”