Ole Miss’ Evan Engram added to Biletnikoff Award watch list

Published 1:54 pm Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Evan Engram’s early season success was rewarded Tuesday.

Ole Miss’ senior tight end was one of eight players added to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, which is awarded annually to the nation’s top receiver. The award is not limited to wide receivers as any player who catches a pass is eligible.

But of those added to the list Wednesday, Engram was the only tight end. Engram leads all tight ends nationally in catches (26) and receiving yards (297) with three touchdown catches after having 38 receptions all of last season. He’s tied for the Southeastern Conference lead with 6.5 catches per game while his 99.2 yards a game rank 19th nationally.

Email newsletter signup

The other seven additions to the list are Northwestern’s Austin Carr, Wyoming’s Tanner Gentry, Tulsa’s Keevan Lucas, Missouri’s J’Mon Moore, Utah’s Tim Patrick, North Carolina’s Ryan Switzer and UConn’s Noel Thomas.

Three finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 22. The winner will presented on Dec. 8 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show starting at 6 p.m. on ESPN.