Ole Miss’ Shea Patterson selected to SEC Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council

Published 3:42 pm Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Quarterback Shea Patterson will represent Ole Miss on the inaugural Southeastern Conference Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council.

The 14 representatives — one from each SEC school — were announced by the conference Tuesday. Patterson, who will be a true sophomore next season, is the youngest representative selected.

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey in 2016 introduced new student-athlete leaderships councils for football as well as men’s and women’s basketball that will allow more engagement with campus leaders and SEC office staff. The league will also keep its Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

Email newsletter signup

According to the SEC, the council will serve as a channel of communication to the league office on issues related to student-athletes’ experience and wellness as well as provide feedback on proposed SEC and NCAA rules.

Other council representatives are Alabama linebacker Christian Miller, Arkansas running back Rawleigh Williams, Auburn receiver Marcus Davis, Florida offensive lineman Martez Ivey, Georgia cornerback Aaron Davis, Kentucky tight end Greg Hart, LSU quarterback Danny Etling, Mississippi State linebacker Gerri Green, Missouri receiver Nate Brown, South Carolina linebacker Bryson Allen-Williams, Tennessee defensive back Micah Abernathy, Texas A&M receiver Christian Kirk and Vanderbilt running back Ralph Webb.

Patterson’s redshirt came off with three games left in the season once senior Chad Kelly went down with a torn ACL. A five-star signee, the 6-foot-2, 200-pound Patterson completed 55 percent of his passes (72 of 132) for 880 yards with six touchdowns and three interceptions. He also ran 41 times for 169 yards.