Ole Miss basketball great Jason Harrison named SEC Legend

Published 5:46 pm Saturday, January 21, 2017

Ole Miss Basketball great Jason Harrison has been named to the 2017 Allstate SEC Legends class, the league office announced Friday.

One of the most popular players in Ole Miss Basketball history, Harrison earned All-SEC honors twice during his career from 1999-2002 and helped lead the Rebels to three NCAA Tournament appearances and a pair of SEC West titles.

The 5-5 point guard hit one of the biggest shots in Ole Miss history – a 3-pointer with 48 second left – that propelled the Rebels over Norte Dame in the 2001 NCAA Tournament and to the first Sweet Sixteen appearance in school history. Harrison stills ranks in the top ten in Ole Miss history in assists, free throw percentage and wins.

Email newsletter signup

Featuring former greats from all 14 Southeastern Conference member institutions, the Allstate SEC Basketball Legends will be honored at the SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament March 8-12 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

In addition to Harrison, the 2017 class includes George Linn, Alabama; Oliver Miller, Arkansas; Marquis Daniels, Auburn; Matt Bonner, Florida; Jimmy Pitts, Georgia; Keith Bogans, Kentucky; Tasmin Mitchell, LSU; Dontae’ Jones, Mississippi State; Jon Sundvold, Missouri; Bobby Cremins, South Carolina; Ron Slay, Tennessee; Acie Law IV, Texas A&M; Barry Booker, Vanderbilt.
Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution’s first game at the tournament.

Highlighting the schedule of events at the Sunkist Soda SEC FanFare will be appearances by selected legends. Fanfare will be located at Broadway and 5th Avenue.

This marks the 19th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program.

Last year’s group included Ennis Whatley, Alabama; Pat Bradley, Arkansas; Jack Stewart, Auburn; Lee Humphrey, Florida; Jarvis Hayes, Georgia; Larry Conley, Kentucky; Stanley Roberts, LSU; Johnny Neumann, Ole Miss; Mario Austin, Mississippi State; Devan Downey, South Carolina; Vincent Yarbrough, Tennessee; Carroll Broussard, Texas A&M; Shan Foster, Vanderbilt.