Northwest 2017 All-Mississippi Academic Team honorees recognized for achievement

Published 6:00 am Sunday, April 9, 2017

By LaJuan Tallo

Assistant Director of Communications and Public Information

Northwest Mississippi Community College students Devon Troy-Lee Thomas of Oxford; Kayla Rene Duerstock of Nesbit; Alexis Riley Slade of Horn Lake; Veronica Earlene Wilson of Oxford; Kendall Elaine McCoy of Olive Branch and Kayla Mallory Perez of Horn Lake were honored on March 22 for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Mississippi Academic Team.

Email newsletter signup

During the All-Mississippi Academic Team Recognition Luncheon held at the Jackson Convention Center, the students were individually recognized for their academic accomplishments and were presented with a medal.

Thomas, who is studying civil engineering at the Lafayette-Yalobusha Technical Center, was recognized as an All-Mississippi first team honoree. All-Mississippi second team honorees from the DeSoto Center were Duerstock, who is taking general college courses and Slade, who is studying psychology. From the Lafayette-Yalobusha Technical Center, the second team honoree was Wilson, who is studying science. The second team honorees from the Senatobia campus were McCoy, who is studying elementary education and Perez, who is studying secondary education.

Northwest President, Dr. Gary Lee Spears, who has served as chairman of the event’s steering committee for the eighth year in a row, was the master of ceremonies for the event.

Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant, Dr. Andrea Mayfield, executive director of the Mississippi Community College Board and Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society executive director served as distinguished speakers at the recognition luncheon.

PTK is an international scholastic and leadership honor society for two-year colleges. Members are eligible for scholarships at universities throughout the nation.

Each two-year college in Mississippi may nominate two students per campus to the All-Mississippi Academic Team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community.