Ole Miss’ Shea Patterson, Marquis Haynes land on Maxwell, Bednarik award watch lists

Published 1:39 pm Monday, July 10, 2017

Two Ole Miss players are getting preseason consideration for some of college football’s highest honors.

Quarterback Shea Patterson has been named to the Maxwell Award watch list while defensive end Marquis Haynes has been included on the Bednarik Award watch list, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday. The Maxwell Award is given to the nation’s Player of the Year while the Bednarik Award goes to the Defensive Player of the Year.

Patterson, a rising sophomore, lands on the prestigious list despite being just three games into his career after taking over for the injured Chad Kelly last season. The former five-star prospect completed 54.5 percent of his passes for 880 yards with six touchdowns and three interceptions and added 56.3 yards a game on the ground.

Email newsletter signup

Haynes enters his senior season as one of the SEC’s top pass rushers, ranking third in school history with 24.5 sacks. The 6-foot-3, 225-pounder has led the Rebels in that category each of his first three seasons and followed a 10-sack season in 2015 with seven sacks a season ago. The two-time All-SEC performer has also racked up 36.5 tackles for loss for his career.

Semifinalists for both awards will be announced Oct. 30 before three finalists are selected Nov. 20. The Maxwell Award has been awarded annually since 1937 while the Bednarik Award has been doled out since 1995.