• 63°

Total Solar Eclipse NASA live stream today: How to watch total solar eclipse online (Monday August 21, 2017)

The U.S. mainland hasn’t seen a total solar eclipse since 1979 — and even then, only five states in the Northwest experienced total darkness.

Today, that will change since it’s the big total solar eclipse 2017.

Today2017 ‘s total eclipse will cast a shadow that will race through 14 states, entering near Lincoln City, Oregon, at 1:16 p.m. EDT, moving diagonally across the heartland over Casper, Wyoming, Carbondale, Illinois, and Nashville, Tennessee, and then exiting near Charleston, South Carolina, at 2:47 p.m. EDT.

NASA is live streaming the eclipse so you can watch it live online here today. The live streaming will also be available on outlets including Twitter, UStream. NASA’s live streaming broadcast has the following start times today:

11:45 a.m. EDT

10:45 a.m. CDT

9:45 a.m. MDT

8:45 a.m. PDT

Ways to watch the NASA live stream of the Total Solar Eclipse 2017 include:

The path will cut 2,600 miles (4,200 kilometers) across the land and will be just 60 to 70 miles (96 kilometers to 113 kilometers) wide. Shawnee National Forest in southern Illinois will see the longest stretch of darkness: 2 minutes and 44 seconds.

Mostly clear skies beckoned along much of the route, according to the National Weather Service.

All of North America will get at least a partial eclipse. Central America and the top of South America will also see the moon cover part of the sun.

NASA and other scientists will be watching and analyzing from telescopes on the ground and in orbit, the International Space Station, airplanes and scores of high-altitude balloons, which will beam back live video. Citizen scientists will monitor animal and plant behavior as daylight turns into twilight and the temperature drops.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.