OSD names 2018 teacher, principal of the year

Published 8:00 am Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Oxford Intermediate School gifted teacher Mary Martha Crowe was named the 2018 Oxford School District’s Teacher of the Year Monday during the school board meeting.

As part of the annual teacher recognition program, each school in the district honors a Teacher of the Year. Crowe was selected in December as Oxford Intermediate School’s Teacher of the Year.

The Faculty Advisory Council then selected Crowe as the Teacher of the Year for the entire district from the list of seven teachers who were selected as Teachers of the Year for their respective schools. Along with Crowe, the 2018 Teachers of the Year are: Erica Oliver, Bramlett Elementary; Mary Dickerson, Oxford Elementary School; Sarah Simer, Della Davidson; Anna Jeffries, Oxford Middle School; Charley Sabatier, Oxford High School; and Jamie Perkins, Oxford Learning Center.

Email newsletter signup

Crowe’s application will be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of Education to compete for Mississippi Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Brian Harvey said Crowe was described in nomination letters as a teacher who “takes pride in her classroom,” “creates activities that stimulate minds,” and “a rock for so many students.”

Crowe has worked for the Oxford School District since 2006 and has been a teacher since 2000. Last year, she received her National Board Certification.

“This means so much to me,” Crowe said Monday. “I’m a product of the Oxford School District. I graduated from here in 1995 and was probably one of the first classes to be sitting in the chairs in this room we’re in right now. I couldn’t be more blessed having the opportunity to be a part of this school district.”

Also on Monday, Oxford High School principal Bradley Roberson was named the 2018 School Administrator of the Year for the second time in five years.

Roberson started his education career with the Oxford School District as a math teacher in 2000 and in 2001, won the OHS High School First Year Teacher of the Year Award. In 2007, he won the Oxford School District Teacher of the Year and in 2013 was named the Oxford School District Administrator of the Year. He’s been principal at OHS since 2015.

“We are proud to have him in our district,” Harvey said. “He’s done phenomenal work.”

Roberson said there’s no place he’d rather be than OHS.

“We truly have the best school district in Mississippi and I believe, one of the very best in the country,” Roberson said.

Roberson’s application will also be forwarded to the Department of Education to compete for the Mississippi School Administrator of the Year.