Lafayette County School District names Parents of the Year

Published 10:30 am Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Lafayette County School District honored their Parents of the Year during Monday night’s school board meeting.

The award recipients, who were chosen by the faculty and staff of their respective schools, are Jeff Woolfolk, LUES; Dawn McGregor, LMS; Leah Christman, LHS and Sara Nowell, who won Parent of the Year for LES and the district as a whole.

Nowell, a mother of four children ages 3 to 10, said it is simply an honor to be a part of the learning community in Lafayette County.

Email newsletter signup

“I am huge supporter of public education and I am very grateful for the hardworking and dedicated administration, teachers and staff at Lafayette,” Nowell said. “I believe a strong working relationship between teachers, parents and children is a key to student success.”

Nowell has been involved in the elementary school’s PTO for several years. She said her desire to devote her time and efforts to the school stems from her desire to see her own children and others succeed.

“I very much want my children to know that I am proud of their school work and accomplishments. One of my very favorite things is to experience my own children learning to read, and watching the wheels turn in the head when it all comes together,” she said. “I have loved celebrating milestones with my children’s classes, whether it be a successful DonorsChoose campaign or an AR Celebration. We held a successful food drive in November and I always enjoy working with [Principal] Gibbs and the administration.”

Jeff Woolfolk, Parent of the Year for Lafayette Upper Elementary School, says he didn’t even know the award existed until he received the phone call saying he’d won. Woolfolk, a Lafayette County Schools alumnus himself, says working to provide resources for children is his top priority.

“The most important thing is that the children have the things they need so they can achieve the highest education possible,” Woolfolk said. “I would encourage all parents to get involved with the classrooms and something as simple as paper or a small donation goes a long way.”

Dawn McGregor, who was awarded Parent of the Year for Lafayette Middle School, declined to comment. However, LMS principal Chad Chism said McGregor was chosen by the majority of teachers at the school, with many leaving comments along with their ballots.

“When I think of Dawn, I think of the word selflessness,” one teacher wrote. “She always puts others’ needs before her own. She is the first to ask if there is anything teachers or students need. There isn’t a person she comes in contact with that doesn’t feel like they are special in her eyes.”

Another teacher said her eagerness to volunteer for school functions was an inspiration.

“Mrs. McGregor always goes above and beyond for our school,” the teacher said. “She is always one of the first people to volunteer to help plan, decorate, coordinate, or help work with any school function.”

Parent of the Year is an award voted on by teachers, but LHS principal Glenn Kitchens says all parents can get involved, like the LHS Parent of the Year, Leah Christman. Christman was unavailable for comment at press time.

“[Christman] works with the other officers and parents to provide classroom grants to teachers through an application process. These grants are used to enhance classroom instruction and promote success at LHS,” he said. “LHS appreciates all of our parents and is happy to honor Mrs. Christman as the representative for the great support we receive from the families of our students. Mrs. Leah Christman is Anchored to Excellence.”