Which players will represent Ole Miss at SEC Media Days?

Published 2:01 pm Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Three upperclassmen will represent Ole Miss at SEC Media Days next week.

Quarterback Jordan Ta’amu, center Sean Rawlings and defensive lineman Josiah Coatney will join coach Matt Luke at the league’s unofficial start to the college football season as the Rebels’ player representatives. Student-athlete representatives for each SEC team were announced Wednesday.

Luke and the players will take their turn in front of the cameras and microphones Tuesday at the College Football Hall of Fame and the Omni Hotel at CNN Center in Atlanta — the first time the annual kickoff event won’t be held at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama in 18 years.

Email newsletter signup

This year’s media days will begin Monday and run through July 19. The media’s preseason All-SEC teams and predicted order of finish in the division standings will also be released during the event.

Ta’amu started the final five games last season in place of the injured Shea Patterson, who’s since transferred to Michigan, and kept the SEC’s top passing offense humming. The 6-foot-2, 212-pound senior completed nearly 67 percent of his passes for 1,682 yards with 11 touchdowns and four interceptions while adding 165 yards and four scores on the ground.

Entering his fourth year as a full-time starter, Rawlings begins his senior season as the anchor of an offensive line that returns all five starters. Rawlings was limited in the spring with a back injury but is expected to be ready to go for fall camp.

A healthy Coatney was one of the Rebels’ more disruptive linemen last season, racking up 65 tackles, eight tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks from his defensive tackle spot. Coatney, a junior college transfer, is a fourth-year junior after redshirting in 2016 following knee surgery.

The event schedule with a full list of attendees is below.


SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey (10:30-11 a.m.)

Texas A&M coach Jimbo Fisher (11:15-11:45 a.m.)

Texas A&M players Kingsley Keke, Erik McCoy and Trayveon Williams (12:15-12:45 p.m.)

Kentucky coach Mark Stoops (1-1:30 p.m.)

Kentucky players Benny Snell Jr., C.J. Conrad and Josh Allen (2:35-2:55 p.m.)

LSU coach Ed Orgeron (3-3:30 p.m.)

LSU players Foster Moreau, Rashard Lawrence and Devin White (4:35-4:55 p.m.)


SEC Coordinator of Football Officials Steve Shaw (7:30-7:50 a.m.)

Georgia coach Kirby Smart (8-8:30 a.m.)

Georgia players Terry Godwin, Jonathan Ledbetter and J.R. Reed (10-10:20 a.m.)

Ole Miss coach Matt Luke (9:20-9:50 a.m.)

Ole Miss players Jordan Ta’amu, Josiah Coatney and Sean Rawlings (11:10-11:30 a.m.)

Arkansas coach Chad Morris (12:30-1 p.m.)

Arkansas players Hjalte Froholdt, Dre Greenlaw and Santos Ramirez (2:30-2:50 p.m.)

Florida coach Dan Mullen (1:50-2:20 p.m.)

Florida players Martez Ivey, Cece Jefferson and David Reese II (3:40-4 p.m.)


Mississippi State coach Joe Moorhead (8-8:30 a.m.)

Mississippi State players Nick Fitzgerald, Gerri Green and Mark McLaurin (10-10:20 a.m.)

Tennessee coach Jeremy Pruitt (9:20-9:50 a.m.)

Tennessee players Kyle Phillips, Marquez Callaway and Eli Wolf (11:10-11:30 a.m.)

Alabama coach Nick Saban (12:30-1 p.m.)

Alabama players Damien Harris, Anfernee Jennings and Ross Pierschbacher (2:30-2:50 p.m.)

Missouri coach Barry Odom (1:50-2:20 p.m.)

Missouri players Drew Lock, Terry Beckner Jr. and Terez Hall (3:40-4 p.m.)


Auburn coach Gus Malzahn (8-8:30 a.m.)

Auburn players Jarrett Stidham, Deshaun Davis and Dontavius Russell (9:35-9:55 a.m.)

Vanderbilt coach Derek Mason (8:45-9:15 a.m.)

Vanderbilt players Kyle Shurmur, Justin Skule and LaDarius Wiley (11-11:20 a.m.)

South Carolina coach Will Muschamp (10:10-10:30 a.m.)

South Carolina players Jake Bentley, Deebo Samuel and D.J. Wonnum (12:15-12:35 p.m.)