UM Pharmacy faculty members to lead Mississippi Pharmacists Association

Published 10:30 am Thursday, August 9, 2018

Two members of the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy have been named to leadership positions with the Mississippi Pharmacists Association.

Lauren Bloodworth, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice, will serve as the organization’s president for the 2018-19 term. Phil Ayers, also a clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice, has been named MPhA’s interim executive director.

Both Ayers and Bloodworth are graduates of the Ole Miss pharmacy school. Ayers joined the faculty in 1997 after graduating in 1996. Bloodworth, a Batesville native, graduated in 2000, and joined the school’s faculty in 2008.

Email newsletter signup

“For years, I have been proud to serve alongside our tremendous pharmacy family, and I am honored by the opportunity to serve as the next president of the Mississippi Pharmacists Association,” Bloodworth said in a recent news release.

Bloodworth previously served as MPhA’s Central District Chairman from 2003 to 2007 and currently serves on the Education and Awards and Nominations Committees. Lauren and her husband, Ward, live in Hernando with their three children, Max, Drake and Rivers.

According to its website, MPhA connects pharmacists from all areas of the profession to one another and with other health care professions to “promote pharmacy and patient welfare across the state.”

David D. Allen, dean of the School of Pharmacy and ex officio member of MPhA’s executive committee, said the School of Pharmacy is “very proud” to have Ayers and Bloodworth lead the organization.

“Lauren and Phil are both extremely dedicated to bolstering Mississippi’s pharmacy landscape and are natural fits for these positions,” Allen said in a recent news release.