OPD names Kevin Parker Officer of the Year at awards banquet

Published 3:46 pm Monday, January 21, 2019

Oxford Police Department held its annual awards banquet last Friday, and bestowed nine awards to officers in the department.

Kevin Parker took OPD’s Officer of the Year award, after remarks from Mississippi Representative Trent Kelly, who was the banquet’s guest speaker.

This is Parker’s second time winning Officer of the Year, after also winning the award in 2014.

Email newsletter signup

“To win that award you have to be a very balanced and hardworking officer,” Major Jeff McCutchen said. “This year’s winner, Kevin Parker, embodies all of the qualities that make OPD great. He is hardworking, thoughtful and respected by us all.”


According to McCutchen, for an officer to be eligible for Officer of the Year they must have a letter written by someone in the department detailing why they should be considered.

In order to be considered, officers must have a clean disciplinary background, be involved in community service and have their actions considered above and beyond.

The entire department casts votes based on the officer’s and the winner is kept secret until the announcement at the banquet.

Parker won the OPD’s award for Newcomer of the Year in 2012. This year’s Newcomer of the year was Mike McGhee, who is a graduate of Oxford High School.

OPD also gave Chief Joey East a photo of him and his late father, former Lafayette County Sheriff Buddy East, as going-away gift as he steps down from his position in order to run for the position of Lafayette County Sheriff in 2019.

“He has taught and mentored a bunch of officers and he will be missed while he pursues the office of Sheriff,” OPD wrote on Facebook. “Thank you Chief!”

McCutchen has been tabbed as the interim chief of police, and will take over as OPD’s interim chief on February 1.

OPD Award Winners

Officer of the Year – Kevin Parker

Supervisor of the Year – Bridgette Frierson

Admin Major Award – David Misenhelter

Operations Major Award – Rachel Ratcliffe

SWAT Officer of the Year – Joshua Shipp

Community Service Award – Jeffrey Dukes

Mounted Officer Award – Matt Kinne

Newcomer of the Year – Mike McGhee

Reserve of the Year – Shawn Doyle