Tyree named to AP All-SEC Second Team

Published 11:27 am Tuesday, March 12, 2019

After finishing the regular season as the SEC’s second leading scorer, Ole Miss junior guard Breein Tyree has been named to the AP All-SEC Second Team.

Tyree’s minutes jumped by nearly nine from his sophomore to junior years, and with it went his efficiency. In 25.2 minutes as sophomore, Tyree averaged 10.8 points on 39.4-percent shooting. In 33.9 minutes as a junior, those numbers jumped to 18.5 points on 47.5-percent shooting. Additionally, his three-point shooting numbers saw a 4.2-percent bump and his free-throw shooting numbers saw a 13.1-percent bump.

One of the more impressive parts of Tyree’s year has been his ability to turn it on when things matter most. To close the regular season, Tyree scored 20 or more points in nine of the final twelve games.

Email newsletter signup

Tyree joins Tennessee’s Jordan Bone and Admiral Schofield, Auburn’s Jared Harper and South Carolina’s Chris Silva on the second team. Quinndary Weatherspoon, Tremont Waters, Grant Williams, PJ Washington and Daniel Gafford populated the first team.

The conference releases it’s own awards, in which eight players are named to each to the first and second teams. In the conference awards, Tyree was named to the first team and senior guard Terence Davis was named to the second team.





Daniel Gafford, Arkansas, F, 6-11, Soph., El Dorado, Arkansas
PJ Washington, Kentucky, F, 6-8, Soph., Dallas
Tremont Waters, LSU, G, 5-11, Soph., New Haven, Connecticut
Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State, G, 6-4, Sr., Canton, Mississippi
Grant Williams, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Jr., Charlotte, North Carolina


Jordan Bone, Tennessee, G, 6-3, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee
Jared Harper, Auburn, G, 5-11, Jr., Mableton, Georgia
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee, G, 6-6, Sr., Zion, Illinois
Breein Tyree, Mississippi, G, 6-2, Jr., Somerset, New Jersey
Chris Silva, South Carolina, F, 6-9, Sr., Libreville, Gabon


Player of the year: Grant Williams, Tennessee
Coach of the year: Kermit Davis, Ole Miss
Newcomer of the year: Tyler Herro, Kentucky, G, 6-5, Fr., Milwaukee