Team Ole Miss continues to dominate Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge

Published 11:58 am Friday, May 3, 2019

As it turns out, Ole Miss head football coach Matt Luke is pretty darn good on the golf course.

Luke and former Ole Miss and NFL tight end Wesley Walls won the 2019 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge, shooting 13-under in the charity tournament competing against eleven other coach and celebrity pairings from around the SEC and ACC. Winning by two strokes, the Ole Miss team has now won four-straight Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenges.

“Matt can putt, I can tell you that. He made a lot of crucial and critical putts,” Walls said. “What a great job Chick-fil-A and Peach Bowl, Inc. does with putting on this golf tournament. It’s awesome and a lot of good comes out of it.”

Email newsletter signup

Not only can Luke apparently hit some good puts, he also won the long drive competition for the coaches, hitting a 275-yard drive.

With the win, it’s the first time in event history (since 2010), that one school has won the event four consecutive years. Teams are competing for prize money to be donated to charity.

“I think coming down the stretch last year, we had a little cushion. We got behind this back nine. I think Georgia was up there, so there was a little bit more pressure coming in having to hit a good shot,” Luke said after the event. “It’s been a day of good friends and good times.”

Team Ole Miss’ $100,000 in prize money will be split between an Ole Miss endowed scholarship fund and the Ole Miss chapter of The Fellowship of Christian Athletes.


Full Results

PLACE  TEAM                                                                      SCORE            WINNINGS

1          Ole Miss (Matt Luke, Wesley Walls)                             -13                   $100,000
2          Georgia (Kirby Smart, David Dukes)                           -11                   $90,000
T3        Clemson (Dabo Swinney, Bill Spiers)                          -9                     $65,000
T3        Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry)                    -9                     $65,000
T3        North Carolina (Mack Brown, Roy Williams)            -9                     $65,000
T3        Ohio State (Urban Meyer, Jeff Logan)                         -9                     $65,000
T7        Auburn (Gus Malzahn, Tim Hudson)                           -8                     $35,000
T7        Pittsburgh (Pat Narduzzi, John Congemi)                   -8                     $35,000
T9        Florida (Dan Mullen, Judd Davis)                                -7                     $28,300
T9        NC State (Dave Doeren, Terry Harvey)                         -7                     $28,300
T9        UConn (Randy Edsall, Dan Orlovsky)                          -7                     $28,300
12        Notre Dame (Brian Kelly, Jimmy Dunne)                    -5                     $25,100