Local and State runoff elections taking place Tuesday

Published 11:08 am Saturday, August 24, 2019

Runoff elections, stemming from the Aug. 6 primary results, will take place this Tuesday.

On the Republican side, Lafayette County voters will be able to vote in the governor, attorney general, northern district transportation commissioner and the District 10 House of Representatives races at the state level.

Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves and Bill Waller are squaring off to determine who will challenge Democratic candidate Jim Hood in the general election for the state’s next governor. Lynn Fitch and Andy Taggert are the final two in the attorney general’s race.

Email newsletter signup

The northern district transportation commissioner race will be between Geoffrey Yoste and John Caldwell. Kelly Morris and Brady Williamson are both vying to be the Republican candidate for District 10 state Representative.

There is one runoff at the local level, between Adam P. Clay and Harold Brummett, for the District 1 supervisor seat.

The Democratic side has two races to vote on, both at the local level. Ava Halon Bonds Gossett and Josh McGlawn are running in the District 2 supervisor race, while Duncan Gray and District 4 incumbent Chad McLarty are facing off in the other runoff.

An anticipated runoff for the state House of Representatives District 10 Democratic candidate is no longer taking place. Bobby Dailey was declared the winner of the primary race, after Amanda Campbell and Nolan Webb withdrew from the race. Before Campbell and Webb withdrew, they were set to face each other in the runoff.

Saturday marks the last day to vote absentee in-person.

The general elections will be held on Nov. 5.