County Supervisor races finalized after runoff elections

Published 10:49 pm Tuesday, August 27, 2019

The dust has settled and all the races are finalized for the November general election.

Primary runoffs were held on Tuesday across the state to determine who will be the Republican candidates for governor and attorney general, along with local elections.

Lafayette County had three supervisor primaries that called for a runoff, with one incumbent having to wait until every absentee ballot was counted to see if he would continue on.

Email newsletter signup

Chad McLarty will indeed continue his bid to seek reelection for the District 4 supervisor seat, defeating challenger Duncan Grey in the Democratic runoff by a total of 42 votes. McLarty received 402 votes (52 percent) on Tuesday, with Gray receiving 360 (47 percent), but it came down to the absentee votes to seal the win for McLarty.

McLarty will run against Republican candidate Derek Mooney in the general election.

The other Democratic runoff was called quickly, with Joshua McGlawn defeating Ava Halon Bonds Gossett by 110 votes. McGlawn will face Republican candidate Larry Gillespie to determine Jeff Busby’s successor for the District 2 seat.

There was one local Republican runoff on Tuesday. Adam Clay defeated Harold Brummett to earn the Republican bid in the District 1 race. Clay, who is running for the first time, received 61 percent of the vote (621 votes) while Brummett received 386 votes (38 percent).

District 1 will also have a new face, with incumbent Kevin Frye running for a Mississippi Senate this fall. Clay now faces Democratic candidate Brent Larson.

“The biggest thing is I’m going to continue to work. I’ve been going to as many houses as I can knocking on doors,” Clay said. “I want to be accessible to the citizens of District 1 and represent their interests. I want to serve them. It’s really what it’s about. … It’s very humbling to have 621 people, the vast majority of which are not related to me or not my friends, to vote for me. They didn’t know who I was 10 months ago.”

In the race to determine the Republican candidate for the Northern Transportation District commissioner, Oxford’s Geoffrey Yoste fared well in his home county. Yoste defeated John Caldwell by over 2,000 votes, but lost the overall runoff. Caldwell will move on to the general election.

Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves defeated Bill Waller in Tuesday’s Republican gubernatorial runoff. Waller won Lafayette County by nearly 2,000 votes, receiving 52 percent of the vote (3,427 votes). Reeves advances to face Democratic candidate and current Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood, who cruised to a primary win on Aug. 6.

In determining Hood’s successor, Andy Taggart and Lynn Fitch squared off in Tuesday’s runoff with Fitch claiming the victory. In Lafayette County, Taggart won with 51 percent of the vote, besting Fitch by 159 votes. Fitch will face Democratic candidate Jennifer Collins in the Nov. 5 general election.

Of the 30,086 registered voters in Lafayette County, 20 percent of them (6,294) voted on Tuesday – 4,000 less than on Aug. 6.