Ole Miss’ Quinshon Judkins earns SEC Freshman of the Year honors

Published 11:30 am Thursday, December 8, 2022

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Ole Miss’ Quinshon Judkins continues to add postseason accolades as the record-breaking running back was SEC Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

Judkins, who was named SEC Freshman of the Year by the Associated Press earlier in the week, becomes just the second Rebel to earn top freshman honors from the league’s coaches. Wideout Laquon Treadwell also earned Freshman of the Year in 2013.

Judkins set the Ole Miss single-season record in both rushing yards (1,476) and rushing touchdowns (16). Besides rushing yards and TDs, Judkins also leads the SEC and ranks top 10 nationally in total touchdowns (17) and rushing yards per game (123.0).

Email newsletter signup

The Pike Road, Alabama, native anchors an Ole Miss rushing attack that that leads the SEC and ranks No. 3 nationally in rushing yards per game (261.6 ypg). With a bowl game still yet to be played, Ole Miss has already broken its single-season school record in rushing yards (3,139), previously set in 1957.

Judkins is having one of the greatest seasons ever by an SEC freshman running back. He currently ranks third all-time amongst conference freshmen in rushing yards, behind only Herschel Walker (1,616 yds, Georgia, 1980) and Nick Chubb (1,547, Georgia, 2014). The five-time SEC Freshman of the Week leads all freshmen nationally in rushing yards, rushing yards per game, rushing TDs, all-purpose yards, scoring and total TDs.

Judkins is only the second Rebel to register mutli 200-yard rushing performances in the same season, joining Kayo Dottley, who tallied three such games in 1949. His 214 rushing yards vs. Arkansas were the 10th-most all-time by a Rebel.

Get all the latest information on the team by following @olemissfb on Twitter and Instagram and OleMissFootball on Facebook. General athletic news can also be found at OleMissSports on Twitter and Facebook and OleMissAthletics on Instagram.

SEC Individual Awards
Coach of the Year: Kirby Smart, Georgia
Offensive Player of the Year: Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
Defensive Player of the Year: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
Special Teams Player of the Year: Jack Podlesny, Georgia
Freshman of the Year: Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Austin Williams, Mississippi State