OPD names Det. Kam Herod its 2023 R.L. “Bob” Jones Memorial Officer of the Year

Published 3:11 pm Tuesday, January 23, 2024

The Oxford Police Department held its annual Peace Officer’s Officer of the Year Banquet recently to recognize outstanding officers and award the 2023 R.L. “Bob” Jones Memorial Officer of the Year Award.

This year, the award was given to Det. Kam Herod.

Chief Jeff McCutchen said it was an honor to work for a department that recognizes people like Herod.

Email newsletter signup

“Kam is a person who when you spend time with him, you get better for being there,” McCutchen said. “He’s a compassionate officer, with a drive to solve problems and create a safe community. He works with a positive attitude and always has a team-first mentality. We could not be more proud of the husband, father, and example that he is to all of us.”

Herod has been with OPD for six years. He is the 27th winner of the R.L. “Bob” Jones Memorial Officer of the Year Award. He was nominated by Sgt. Mike Burks.

“First and foremost, I’d like to thank God, who plays a crucial role in my life,” Herod said. “I would also like to thank Chief McCutchen for allowing me the opportunity to continue to be a member of a great department. I’d like to thank my family and friends for always having my back. I’d like to thank my coworkers who have become my second family. They have done an outstanding job of pushing me, as well as our unit, each day to be the best. They play a big role in the success of our unit. I’m far from deserving of this award. I do greatly appreciate the honor and the meaning that stands behind this award.

“To my community, I hope to continue to be of great service and assistance to you. Making a difference and continuing to build the best relationship with you all is always the goal. I love what I do and enjoy being a servant to my community as well as getting the chance to work alongside a great group of men and women.”

Other awards given at the banquet included: Lt. David Sabin – Supervisor of the Year; Officer Hillary Coney – E9 Award; Officer Richard Carleton – Reserve Officer of the Year; Officer Dillon Carmichael – Co-SWAT Officer of the Year; Sgt. Barron Pruitt – Co-SWAT Officer of the Year; Officer Cole Cromwell – Newcomer of the Year; Officer. Lee Williams – Alan Ivy Community Service Award.

“This year’s Officer of the Year Banquet was a great event. We were able to recognize several people and show appreciation for their hard work this past year. All of the employees nominated were more than worthy of the recognition. We are truly blessed at OPD to have so many incredible people working with us,” McCutchen said.

Front row, from left: Lt. David Sabin – Supervisor of the Year, Det. Kam Herod – R.L. “Bob” Jones Memorial Officer of the Year Award, Ofc. Hillary Coney – E9 Award, Ofc. Richard Carleton – Reserve Officer of the Year. Back row: Ofc. Dillon Carmichael – Co-SWAT Officer of the Year, Sgt. Barron Pruitt – Co-SWAT Officer of the Year, Ofc. Cole Cromwell – Newcomer of the Year, Ofc. Lee Williams – Alan Ivy Community Service Award. Photo provided by the OPD