Mississippi primary election on Tuesday

Published 12:26 pm Monday, March 11, 2024

Lafayette County voters will take to the polls Tuesday for primary elections.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. All Lafayette County registered voters must vote at their assigned precincts.

The ballot includes offices of the President, U.S. Senate and U.S. Representative.

Email newsletter signup

Pres. Joe Biden is the only option on the ballot in Mississippi’s Democratic primary.

While Gov. Ron DeSantis, Vivek Ramaswamy and Nikki Haley will appear on the Republican ballot for the presidential race, all three have since withdrawn from the race, leaving former President Donald Trump as the only candidate.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican Sen. Roger Wicker is running for re-election for his fourth term and faces two opponents Tuesday, Ghannon Burton and Dan Eubanks. The winner will face the Democratic opponent, Ty Pinkins in November.

First Congressional District Rep. Trent Kelly is the only candidate on the Republican ballot. He will face the winner of the Democrat primary – either Dianne Dodson Black or Bronco Williams.

Voters are required to show photo identification at the polls. A voter without an acceptable form of photo ID can cast an affidavit ballot; however, they must present an acceptable form of photo ID to the Lafayette County Circuit Clerk’s Office by March 19.