Lafayette County residents vote for Wicker, Black

Published 8:43 pm Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Lafayette County voted on par with most of Mississippi in the primary election Tuesday evening.

On the Republican ballot, 2,808 people in Lafayette County voted for Donald Trump since he was the only Republican running. However, former opponents Ron DeSantis, Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy were still listed on the ballots despite dropping out of the race. Locally, 333 people still voted for Haley, while 78 voted for DeSantis and 14 voted for Ramaswamy.

On the Democratic ballot, President Joe Biden was the only candidate and won the Democratic nomination in Mississippi and Lafayette County.

Email newsletter signup

Less than half as many Democrats in Lafayette County, 1,222, voted Tuesday compared to about 3,073 Republican voters.

Sen. Roger Wicker won the Republican U.S. Senate nomination in Mississippi and Lafayette County. He took 60.8 percent of the votes statewide.

Locally, Wicker earned 1,786 votes against Ghannon Burton, who ran a close race to Wicker locally, earning 1,092 votes. Dan Eubanks earned 365 votes locally.

Wicker will face Democrat Ty Pinkins in November. Pinkins had no opposition Tuesday, so he is the Democratic nominee.

In the U.S. 1st Congressional District primary, Republican Trent Kelly had no opposition.

On the Democrat ballot, Dianne Dodson Black received 1,055 votes in Lafayette County against Bronco Williams, who received 156 votes. Black took about 85 percent of the votes across the district.

Black will face Kelly in November.