‘Commission on the Future of Northeast Mississippi’ to host regional meeting

Published 8:31 pm Friday, April 26, 2024

CREATE Foundation’s Commission on the Future of Northeast Mississippi will host its annual state-of-the-region meeting Wednesday, May 8, at the Cadence Bank Conference Center in Tupelo from 9:30-11:30 a.m., with a coffee hour beginning at 8:30 a.m. With a focus on education and Community Affiliates, “Communities Matter” is the theme of the meeting. 

The Commission on the Future of Northeast Mississippi has functioned as the program arm of CREATE Foundation since 1995. Its purpose is to strengthen regional community and cooperation through regional community development.

The commission consists of 55 volunteer leaders, with representation from 17 counties in the CREATE region. The commission studies data, identifies key issues, sets goals and objectives, and works with numerous partners to address issues, goals and objectives.


Email newsletter signup

For the state-of-the-region meeting, attendees will hear from regional leaders, community affiliates pouring into their communities, and a school district setting the standard for school accountability in Northeast Mississippi.

Featured speaker is Oxford Public School District’s superintendent, Bradley Roberson, who will present his ideas for accountability in public schools and Oxford’s plan to serve its children.

CREATE’s 16 community affiliates will be highlighted, with three community affiliates setting the stage as a panel: 

  • Alison Buehler, Starkville Community Foundation in Oktibbeha County
  • Gus Clark, PACE (Partners in Achieving Community Excellence) in Chickasaw County
  • Amanda Angle, LEAD (Lee County Empowering Advancing and Developing) in Lee  County

CREATE Foundation Director of Development P.K. Thomas will serve as facilitator.

Additionally, the Jack Reed Sr. Community Leadership Award will be presented. This award, supported by an endowment at CREATE and funded by a special dividend from Journal Inc., honors an individual who or an organization that demonstrated extraordinary leadership in helping improve the quality of life in a community and in Northeast Mississippi. 

Past Jack Reed Sr. Community Leadership Award recipients include Dr. Gloria Kellum (Oxford), Mike  Staten (New Albany), Nettie Davis (Tupelo), Hassell Franklin (Houston), Bobby Martin  (Ripley), Aubrey Patterson (Tupelo), Sandy Williams (Corinth) and “The Daily Corinthian.”

Attendees of the program will receive CREATE’s 2023 Annual Report and a program for the meeting itself.

The state meeting is free and open to the public. Media interviews will be conducted after the meeting ends at 11:30 a.m. For more information or questions, contact the CREATE Foundation at (662) 844-8989 or allie@createfoundation.com.