Oxford aldermen want to retain their seats

Published 10:31 am Friday, December 30, 2016

Six of the seven Oxford aldermen have announced their intent to run in the 2017 municipal election to retain their seats, with the seventh tossing their hat into the mayoral race, leaving one ward open with no incumbent running.

Preston Taylor, Ward 5 aldermen, told the EAGLE he would be filing his papers to run in his fifth election. Taylor has been aldermen for almost 16 years and has won four elections.

“I think I’ve made a difference for the people on the west side and would like to continue to serve them,” he said Thursday. “I love Oxford. It’s such a great town and I’d love to continue to serve the people.”

Email newsletter signup

Ward 6 Aldermen Jason Bailey also said he would be running to keep his place on the board.

“There’s a lot of projects the board is working on and I’d like to see them completed,” he said Thursday. “I feel my service to this community is not done yet. I’m really looking forward to serving Ward 6 and the community for another four years.”

This morning, Ward 3 Alderman Janice Antonow said she would also be seeking re-election.

Aldermen Ulysses Howell, Rick Addy and John Morgan confirmed last week their intent to qualify in the election.

Ward 2 Alderman Robyn Tannehill announced Wednesday she would not be running again for the Ward 2 seat, but instead, will be running for mayor.

Mayor Pat Patterson announced last week he would not be seeking re-election.

Candidates will be able to file their statement of intent with the city clerk starting on Jan. 3 Candidates for mayor and the alderman positions have until 5 p.m. March 3 to file. If a primary is needed, it will be held on May 2 with a runoff, if needed, on May 16.  The general election will be on June 6.

Candidates must also pay a $10 filing fee to the city clerk, which will be given to the prospective political party executive committee. Independent candidates must gain 50 signatures from those living in the ward to which the candidate is running for a seat in.

Candidates must be a registered voter in the ward they are running — except the “at large” seat — never been convicted of a crime punishable by a prison sentence or convicted of a felony. Candidates must also file their campaign finance reports periodically.

Six aldermen will be elected from the city’s six voting wards and a seventh alderman will be elected at large as a representative for the entire city. Aldermen and the mayor are elected to a four-year term.

Potential candidates may pick up the necessary form at City Hall or by downloading it at the Mississippi Secretary of State Web site, www.sos.state.ms.us/elections.

The future mayor will earn an $85,000 salary and aldermen receive $18,500 a year.