United Way of Oxford and Lafayette County invests in LOU agencies

Published 11:08 am Wednesday, June 28, 2017

The United Way of Oxford and Lafayette County has released its grant recipients for its fiscal year 2017-2018. A total of $330,000 was awarded to local programs and coalitions.

Advisory committees, which were comprised of local citizens, evaluated all of the applications that were sent into the United Way, focusing on areas such as health, financial stability, education and basic needs.

In the field of health, a total of $84,500 was given to the Exchange Club Family Center, Family Crisis Services of North Mississippi, Girl Scouts Heart of the South, Good Food for Oxford Schools, LOU Excel by 5 Coalition, Oxford Community Market and Special Olympics Mississippi- Area IV.

Email newsletter signup

For financial stability, $34,000 was divided amongst Doors of Hope Transition Ministries, McLean Institute-LOU Saves and the North Mississippi Kidney Foundation.

$114,500 was award in education to the Boys and Girls Club of North Mississippi, Lafayette County Literary Council, LOU Excel by 5 Coalition, McLean Institute-Horizons and The Leap Frog Program.

In the basic needs field, $97,000 was given to American Red Cross of North Mississippi, Dignity Period Oxford, Interfaith Compassion Ministry and Three Rivers-Meals on Wheels.

Executive Director of the UWOLC, Kurt Brummett, is “pleased” with the positive outcomes the grant awards will generate.

“While we are blessed to live in a community that is prospering in so many ways, we face extensive challenges as well and our grant recipients are committed to addressing significant needs affecting thousands of local residents,” Brummet said. “Without the tremendous generosity of our donors and the dedication of our Board of Directors, Community Investment Committee and Advisory Committees, our United Way would not be able to invest hundreds of thousands of dollars in our partner agencies and coalitions each year to implement worthwhile programs throughout Oxford and Lafayette County.”