Ole Miss’ Jordan Ta’amu named to Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list

Published 6:17 pm Thursday, August 9, 2018

Ole Miss quarterback Jordan Ta’amu is in the running for the nation’s top Polynesian college football award.

Taa’amu on Thursday was one of 50 players named to the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame. The award annually goes to the Polynesian player that best displays ability and integrity.

Five finalists will be unveiled Dec. 5. The winner will be announced Dec. 14.

Email newsletter signup

Ta’amu filled in for the injured Shea Patterson, who’s since transferred to Michigan, midway through last season and led the Rebels to a 3-2 record in their final five games, completing nearly 67 percent of his passes for 1,682 yards and 11 touchdowns for the SEC’s top passing offense. He added 165 yards and four scores on the ground.

Past Polynesian award winners include former Heisman Trophy winner and Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota and former Notre Dame standout and Baltimore Ravens offensive lineman Ronnie Stanley. The award was introduced in 2014.