SEC to award Archie Manning with Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award

Published 10:56 am Thursday, November 15, 2018

The Southeastern Conference will award Ole Miss icon Archie Manning with the Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award on November 30 at the SEC Legends Dinner in Atlanta.

The Michael L. Slive Award is presented to former student-athletes, coaches or administrators of SEC schools who have shown leadership qualities that impact the ‘betterment of the mission of the Southeastern Conference.’

“Archie Manning is more than a football legend in the Southeastern Conference.  His integrity, leadership and contributions to society make him a pillar of a wider community that transcends sport,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey in a press release.  “Archie has left an indelible mark on the SEC through his participation in athletics, his service organization leadership and his dedication to family values.  We are pleased to honor Archie Manning with the Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award.”

Email newsletter signup

Born in Drew, Mississippi, Manning started at quarterback for Ole Miss from 1968 to 1970. He was named both an All-American and All-SEC quarterback in 1969 and 1970. At one point, Manning held three SEC records for total offense in a game, pass completions in a game, and total offense for a career. Manning also played baseball for the Rebels. He was selected by New Orleans with the second pick in the 1971 NFL draft and played eleven seasons with the Saints.

Archie Manning has been running the Manning Passing Academy, along with his three sons Cooper, Peyton and Eli, for over 20 years. The camp serves to aid the development high school quarterbacks. Many current and former SEC athletes serve as counselors and coaches at the clinic. Additionally, Manning is heavily involved in a variety of humanitarian causes including cystic fibrosis, Special Olympics and Boy Scouts.

The award is named after former SEC Commissioner Michael L. Silve, who served as commissior from 2002 to 2014. He was the inaugural winner, following his retirement. Last year, the award was presented to four former Kentucky basketball players and two former Vanderbilt basketball players who aided in the breaking of the color barrier in the SEC. Manning currently resides in New Orleans.