Holly Springs attorney Kent Smith appointed to 3rd Circuit Court

Published 8:00 am Friday, July 24, 2020

Mississippi’s 3rd Circuit Court now has a full slate of judges following Tuesday’s appointment by Governor Tate Reeves.

Holly Springs attorney Kent E. Smith was appointed as circuit judge for the 3rd Circuit Court, Place 3. Smith is filling the vacancy left by Judge John A. Gregory who retired on June 30.

“Kent has been a leader in the legal community in our state for years, working hard to protect the rights of Mississippians and ensure justice for American,” Reeves said in a statement. “I am grateful that Kent will continue serving the people of Mississippi as circuit court judge for the 3rd Circuit Court District.”

Email newsletter signup

Smith has practice law in Mississippi as well as Alabama and Tennessee across several court levels. He began his legal career in 1991, covering governmental law, general civil practice, insurance law and criminal defense. Smith has been a member of several professional and legal organizations over the years, including currently the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and the Mississippi Bar Association.

Previous experience includes serving on the Defense Research Institute and the Board of Directors for the Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association. Smith also represents the Marshall County Board of Supervisors and the Marshall County Industrial Development Authority.

“I’m honored to be appointed by Governor Reeves to the 3rd Circuit Court District,” Smith said in a statement. I am excited for this opportunity and promise to work diligently to ensure justice is upheld and protected for the people in my District and all of Mississippi.”

The 3rd Circuit Court District covers Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah and Union Counties.

Earlier this month, Franklin “Gray” Tollison was appointed to the 3rd Circuit Court, Place 1. Tollison fills the chair left empty by Judge Andrew Howorth who also retired on June 30. Judge Smith joins Judge Tollison and Judge Kelly Luther as the three judges for the 3rd Circuit Court District.